UNM Los Alamos

Governing Bodies, Staff and Core Faculty

Governing Bodies, Staff and Core Faculty

The Regents of the University

Robert M. Doughty III, President

Marron Lee - Vice President

Thomas Clifford

Lieutenant General Bradley C. Hosmer

Suzanne Quillen

Garrett Adcock - Student Regent

The University of New Mexico Officers

Chaouki Abdallah, Ph.D., President (Interim)

David Harris, B.B.A., Executive Vice President Administration, Chief Operating Officr, and Chief Financial Officer

Paul B. Roth, M.D., Executive Vice President and Chancellor for Health Services

Craig White, Executive Vice President Academic Affairs and Provost (Interim)

UNM-Los Alamos Advisory Board

Stephen Troy Boerigter, Sc.D., (Chairperson) Term: 2015-2019

Patrick Soran (Secretary) Term: 2015-2019

Michelle Hall (Member) Term: 2017-2021

Sheila Schiferl (Member) Term: 2017-2021

David Sutton (Member) Term 2017-2021

Administrative Staff

Chief Executive Officer

Cynthia J Rooney, Ph.D.

Business & Finance Staff

Bob Harmon, Director of Business Operations

Gayle Burns,  Business Services Manager

Julie Smith, Fiscal Technician/Accounts Payable

Selina Branch - Fiscal Services Tech, Accounts Receivable

Oliva Lopez, Human Resources Administrator

Auxiliary Operations Staff

Betsy Suazo, Facilities Manager

Alex Zubelewicz, Special Events Coordinator, Campus Safety Coordinator

Marketing & Communication Services Staff

Nancy Coombs, Marketing Representative

Information Technology Services Staff

William Gilson, Computing Services Manager

Debray Bailey, Technical Support Analyst

Carol Furchner, Instructional Technologist

Research and Information

Valida Akhadov Dushdurova, Manager

Student Services Staff


Kathryn Vigil, Student Enrollment Director

Barbara Cohen, Enrollment Representative

Jenny Duran, Financial Aid Officer

Melissa Torres, AcademicAdvisement/Recruitment Specialist

Student Success

Elizabeth Rademacher, Academic Student Success Manager

Grace Willerton, CStudent Success AAssociate

Student Government

Grace Willerton, Advisor

Phi Theta Kappa

Elizabeth Rademacher, Advisor


Sharon Hurley, Dean of Instruction

Kateri Morris, Administrative Assistant to the Dean

Community Education and Adult Learning

Mike Katko, Community Education Program Coordinator

Jane Clements, Ph.D., Adiult Basic Education Program Coordinator

Small Business Development Center

Joseph Montes, Director, Los Alamos

Academic Departments

Business, Arts and Applied Sciences

Barbara Yarnell, M.A., Division ChairHead

Patrick Harris, M.F.A, Fine Arts Program Coordinator

Don Davis, M.S.E., Applied Technology Program Coordinator

Joseph Candelaria, B.O.E., Emergency Medical Services Program Coordinator

Steven Dawald, M.P.A., Fire Science Program Coordinator

Melanie Colgan, M.S.N., Certified Nursing Assistant and Personal Care Attendant Program Coordinator

English and Humanities

Maryjane Giesler, M.A., Lecturer II English

Carol Furchner, Ph.D., Lecturer III Psychology

Mathematics, Engineering and Science

Irina Alvestad, Ph.D., Division Chair

Thomas Beach, Ph.D., Lecturer Astronomy

Leslie Dendy, Ph.D., Lecturer III Biology

Michael McNaughton, Ph.D., Lecturer III Physics

Susan Schauer, M.S., Lecturer II Biology


Dennis Davies-Wilson, Director

Joe Matthews, Library Information Specialist III

Academic Support Center

Catherine Hardy, Ph.D.